Yes, Silencers are legal, and they are easily obtainable through S-N-S. There is no special permit or license required to own a suppressor, only a one-time $200.00USD tax for each suppressor that is purchased. The one-time stamp tax is essentially “the license” to own a suppressor. Additionally, the following criteria must be met for legal ownership of a suppressor in the United States:
- The purchaser/owner must be 21 years of age from a dealer.
- The purchaser/owner must be 18 years of age to purchase a suppressor via FORM 4 (this is varies by state law).
- The purchaser/owner must be 18 years of age to possess a suppressor through a trust or membership of a corporation.
- The purchaser/owner must be legally eligible to purchase or own a firearm.
- The purchaser/owner must pass a BATFE (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives) background check. This process typically takes anywhere from 60-120 days for residents in any of the 41 states that currently allow civilian ownership of suppressors.
- Suppressors are currently banned for purchase in the following states: California, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia.